Search embassy
search embassy
bookmark site now   |   make our site your homepage   |   site map   |   search
home    |    news    |    articles    |    tell a friend about us    |    contact

Main menuHome

 USA United States (U.S.A.)

 - American Embassies

 - Foreign Emb. in U.S.A.

 - Embassies in Houston, TX

The Flag of the United States of America

Embassy of Congo in the USA

See also: Other Foreign Embassies in the U.S.A.

- U.S. Embassies - American Embassies worldwide
- The World Factbook - United States
- The Articles about the United States
- The News from the United States
- National Anthem of the United States

Congo - Republic of the Congo

Congo - Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire)

Embassy of The Republic of Congo in Washington, DC

4891 Colorado Avenue, NW,
Washington DC 20011
Telephone: (202) 726-5500
Fax: (202) 726-1860


Diplomatic Representation of the Democratic Republic of the Congo (Zaire) in the USA

1800 New Hampshire Avenue NW,
Washington, DC 20009

Tel: [1] (202) 234-7690, 7691
Fax: [1] (202) 237-0748

The Republic of the Congo (ROC), also known as Congo-Brazzaville (and locally as "Braza"), is the smaller of the two countries and lies to the west.

It was long a French colony, most of the time called Middle Congo (or part of an entity Middle Congo-Gabon), informally also known as French Congo, and since 1886 part of French Equatorial Africa. On 3 January 1970 it became officially the People's Republic of Congo, since 15 March 1992 it was simply the Republic of the Congo. Between 1971 and 1997 (and also in some recent publications[1]) it was also simply referred to as "Congo".

The area was dominated by Congolese tribes throughout most of its history. It was annexed as a colony of France in the 1880s as part of French Equatorial Africa, and Brazzaville was the symbolic capital of Free France during World War II.

The country gained its independence from France in 1960 as the Congo Republic. It has had decades of political struggle since, with fragile elected governments often subject to military coups.

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), known as Zaïre from 1971 to 1997, is sometimes also referred to as "DR Congo", "RDC" or "Congo-Kinshasa". It is the larger of the two countries and lies to the east. It was once the personal property of King Leopold II of Belgium, when it was known as the Congo Free State, and later a Belgian colony when it was renamed the Belgian Congo. When DRC was called Za├»re, the other Congo was known simply as "Congo".

Other Countries’ Embassies in the USA:

A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | VW | XYZ

 AllEmbassies.Com © 2005-2007 Go top